Consulate General of Brazil - Washington DC

Metro Closest Metro Stops:
McPherson Square EmbassyEmbassyEmbassy
Farragut North Embassy
View Metro Map

Travel Phone: (202) 461-3000

Travel Email: visa.cgwashington[at]

Travel Website:

Travel Address: 1030 15th Street NW, Washington DC 20005.

The public entrance is on L Street NW between 15th and 16th Streets (almost in front of the Washington Post).

McPherson Square Metro Station is the closest station to the Consulate General of Brazil. The station has two exits; make sure to leave the station through the Vermont Ave/White House Exit. From the station, it is approximately a 4-minute walk to the consular office.

The Consular Office is also accessible via the Farragut North Station, but you will have to walk a little further. Leave the station through the L Street Exit. Use the map and directions shown below to find suggested routes.


From McPherson Square Metro Station
Approximately 0.2 mile, 4 min
Travel Exit the station using the Vermont Ave/White House Exit.
Travel Head north on Vermont Ave NW toward I St NW.
Travel Continue onto 15th St NW.
Travel Turn left on L St NW.

From Farragut North Metro Station
Approximately 0.3 mile, 6 min
Travel Exit the station using the L St Exit.
Travel Head northwest on Connecticut Ave NW toward L St NW.
Travel Turn right onto L St NW.

Quick Facts

Passport Validity
Must be valid on the date of entry.

Blank Passport Pages
One page required for entry stamp.

Tourist Visa Required
For U.S. Citizens: Yes, a visa is required.


Currency Restrictions for Entry
More than 10,000 BR must be declared to Customs.

Currency Restrictions for Exit
More than 10,000 BR must be declared to Customs.

Visa-Exempt Countries

Brazil has visa waiver agreements with certain countries, so before applying consult the Consulate to verify if you need to have a visa to go to Brazil. If you are exempted, be sure that your passport is valid for more than 6 months, and check if you need vaccination. Bearers of passports issued by these countries do not need a tourist visa nor a business visa to enter Brazil:

Argentina, Austria, Belgium, Bolivia, Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Denmark, Ecuador, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Honduras, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Luxembourg, Monaco, Morocco, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, OSM Malta, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, San Marino, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, South Korea, Spain, Suriname, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Turkey, United Kingdom, Uruguay, and the Vatican.

To view the list of visa requirements by country, click here.

Related Information


Privacy Policy | Contact | Copyright © 2019

Washington DC