Consulate of Honduras - Washington DC

Metro Closest Metro Stop:
Mt Vernon / Sq 7th St-Convention Center TravelTravel
View Metro Map

Travel Phone: (202) 506-4995, (202) 450-3146

Travel Website:

Travel Email: consulado.washington[at]

Travel Hours: Monday - Friday, 8 AM - 4 PM

Travel Address: 1014 M Street NW, Washington, DC 20001

Mt Vernon / Sq 7th St-Convention Center Station is the closest station to the Consulate of Honduras. From the station, it is approximately a 5-minute walk to the Consulate. For details, see the map and directions shown below.


From Mt Vernon / Sq 7th St-Convention Center Station
Approximately 0.3 mile, 5 min
Travel Head west on M St NW toward 8th Court NW.
Travel The Consulate of Honduras will be on the left.

Quick Facts

Passport Validity
Length of stay

Blank Passport Pages
One page required for entry stamp

Tourist Visa Required
For U.S. Citizens: Not required for stays less than 90 days

Not required, but several recommended

Currency Restrictions for Entry
Any amount over $10,000 or equivalent must be declared

Currency Restrictions for Exit
Any amount over $10,000 or equivalent must be declared

Central America Border Control Agreement

Honduras is part of the Central America Border Control Agreement (CA-4). Under the terms of this agreement, citizens of the four countries may travel freely across the CA-4 countries (Honduras, Nicaragua, El Salvador, Guatemala) for a period of up to 90 days, without completing entry and exit formalities at border immigration checkpoints. This period begins at the first point of entry in to any of the CA-4 countries.

U.S. Citizens and other eligible foreign nationals, who legally enter any of the four countries, may similarly travel across the CA-4 countries without obtaining additional visas or tourist entry permits for the other three countries. Immigration officials at the first port of entry determine the length of stay, up to a maximum period of 90 days.

Foreign tourists who wish to remain in the CA-4 region beyond the period initially granted for their visit (e.g., longer than 90 days) must request a one-time extension of stay from local immigration authorities in the country where the traveler is physically present, or they must leave the CA-4 countries and reapply for admission to the region.

Foreigners "expelled" from any of the four countries are excluded from the entire CA-4 region. In isolated cases, the lack of clarity in the implementing details of the CA-4 Border Control Agreement has caused temporary inconvenience to some travelers and has resulted in others being fined more than $100 or detained for 72 hours or longer.

Visa-Exempt Countries

Citizens of the following countries do not require a visa to enter Honduras:

Visa Exempt: Nationals of Andorra, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Australia, Bahamas, Bahrain, Barbados, Belize, Brazil, Brunei, Canada, Chile, Costa Rica, El Salvador, EU countries, Guatemala, Iceland, Japan, Kuwait, Liechtenstein, Malaysia, Mexico, Monaco, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Norway, Panama, Paraguay, Puerto Rico, Qatar, San Marino, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, St Kitts and Nevis, St Lucia, Switzerland, Taiwan, Turkey, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay and Venezuela.

In-Transit: Transit passengers who are only remaining in Honduras for 48 hours, and have proof of onward destination.

Related Information


Privacy Policy | Contact | Copyright © 2019

Washington DC