There are three branches of government in the United States: The Executive (Presidential), the Legislative (Congress), and the Judicial (Supreme Court). The U.S. Constitution provides that "the judicial power of the United States shall be vested in one Supreme Court, and in such inferior courts as the Congress may from time to time ordain and establish" (Article 3, Section 1). This building houses the Judicial Branch of government and is the seat of the Supreme Court.

The Supreme Court is located at First Street NE near the U.S. Capitol and the Library of Congress. The structure rises 92 feet above the ground and has a facade made from Vermont marble. Much of the Supreme Court's interior is made from marble quarried in Alabama with the exception of the courtroom itself, which is lined with Spanish ivory vein marble.

US Supreme Court

Privacy Policy | Contact | Copyright © 2016

Washington DC